Rolling a crit in a skill test

The enemy lurks in shadows
Post Reply
FitFitNitMin
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2021 8:49 am

If a character rolls a crit for a skill test (athletics or stealth) but still only gets 1SL is still still just a basic pass or a more impressive critical pass? Is this better than getting 4SL for instance?
User avatar
Orin J.
Posts: 444
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:39 pm

Nah, skill tests do not provoke criticals (barring any homebrew the GM may add to the campaign). crits are strictly a combat thing.
FitFitNitMin
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2021 8:49 am

Cheers, using Roll20 and it shows crits on skill tests too which confused me
adambeyoncelowe
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:54 pm

There is an optional rule that allows Crits outside of combat to count as an Astounding Success (=+6 SLs). We use that, just because it makes things a bit more interesting.
yoroba
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 11:25 am

We do the same (and with fumbles). It gives more flavour and often leads to hilarious situations :-)
Post Reply