Crits while opposing/parrying in melee

The enemy lurks in shadows
Post Reply
FitFitNitMin
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2021 8:49 am

The rulebook states "a successful melee test" can cause a critical even in you are defender. Is a crit still caused if you are defending, roll a crit but importantly still lose the opposed melee test (ie get less SL than the attacker)?
User avatar
Orin J.
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:39 pm

FitFitNitMin wrote:
Tue Mar 02, 2021 3:38 am
The rulebook states "a successful melee test" can cause a critical even in you are defender. Is a crit still caused if you are defending, roll a crit but importantly still lose the opposed melee test (ie get less SL than the attacker)?
If you succeed at the opposed combat test and roll doubles, it's a crit. if you fail that same test and roll doubles, it's a fumble. it is possible to fail the combat test, fumble, hurt yourself, but still get a hit on your opponent because they failed by a higher number overall, and thus lost the opposed roll.

So yes, if you roll a crit while defending but still lost the opposed combat roll your opponent hit you but you still inflict a crit on them.
Post Reply